I bring you good news! A free gift this Christmas!

Posted: December 20, 2011 in The Birth of a Book: an author's journey

Have you ever been afraid?  In knots, and someone brings you good news that just rolls the 2 ton weight right off your chest and you want to shout and dance and sing.

What if someone brought you good news that lifted the weight off your chest, but you thought it was too good to be true and refused to believe it? You would be walking around with a staggering burden you would not even need to carry.

Everyone of us carrys in the depths of our hearts the crushing burden that we don’t measure up… aren’t ever good enough no matter how hard we try. Some of us become driven… accomplished… proud of what we’ve been able to achieve. The burden is still there.  Some give up, despair, panic… say why try. The burden is still there.

Deep in our hearts we know there is a standard of perfection that we are unable to meet. That standard is the one God set in motion, yet there is GOOD NEWS. Knowing that we could not meet that standard ourselves because we have all chosen to go our own way, God came and met that perfect standard for us and then offered to trade our burden for His.

The cool part?  He CAN MEET THE STANDARD!  It’s His Standard… He’s God, the One who designed the plan, and He has an amazingly good plan for each of us!!!  Jesus the Christ… (literally God with skin on) said this,

“Come to me, all who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden light.”

You can trade your fear and heavy burden for His already met standard, but you do have to trade… Give Him all that you have… all that doesn’t measure up… the good, the bad and the ugly. In exchange, He will give you rest, and your burden lightened.

Give up… to get so much more!  Tell God that you want to trade… your life for His life in Christ.

The cost… it’s a free gift this Christmas!

“Do not be afraid. I bring you good news of great joy that will be for all the people. Today in the town of David a Savior has been born to you; he is Christ the Lord.

P.S. An extra, small gift this Christmas… leave a comment to enter a drawing for a free, autographed copy of Shades of the Orient.  The drawing will take place on Christmas day!

Comments
  1. Free stuff? Yes please 😀

    So grateful for the free gift of Jesus, He is the meaning and the reason behind every moment, not just Christmas.

    Congrats on your book, I can’t wait to read it! 🙂

  2. Tara Lamb says:

    I hope I win! I need a new book to read!!!! It sounds wonderful.

  3. Rita says:

    Hi, coasting in from the yahoo group~ I would like to join the drawing. Is the book Christian-themed?

  4. Hi Stephanie, I’m popping over from the Authors of Asian Novels group. So excited to know you’re a Christian! I am, too. 🙂 It’s so nice to meet you and thank you for this wonderful post. Your book sounds great. Have a wonderful Christmas!

  5. pattimorton says:

    Okees! I here I go. Let’s see where do I start? hmmmmm…. Well, for one… I LOVE the title of your book. Another I LOVE the subject matter, the Boxer Rebellion. I, of course, love the mistique, the romance, the fighting, the glory to God! So… *squeel* I hope you draw my name! What a treasure! Seriously, I love to read and need a good read right now! May our Father bless your new release! I believe He already has!!!

  6. pattimorton says:

    By the way… ‘Thank you’, for the refreshing blog above on the Gift of CHRISTmas!

  7. FredTownWard says:

    Excellent presentation of the Gospel, the Good News! I’d like to win a copy of your book, in part because it is set amongst historical events that have always interested me.

  8. God bless you too, Cass. Thank you.

  9. What a great message and one I really needed to hear right now. 🙂 Thank you!

    Salena

  10. Ok – put my name in! The book sounds great!! Good blog as well -You are a treasure!
    Colette

  11. Steve Myers says:

    Just what I needed to hear. Well said. Between my own writing, research, challenging health and times, moonlighting for health insurance, caring for family and continuing my media production company it all seem overwhelming at times and the smallest wounds or setbacks amplify the greatest pains. Thanks for the right post at the right time.
    Steve
    Arlington Texas

    • Steve,
      This blog was a result of me needing the reminder to let my heavy burdens go… and to rest in at the feet of Jesus. May God bless you with peace and remind you to trade with Him and let your burdens go.

  12. David A. Guerrero says:

    Great message for Christmas my love. I am proud of what you have accomplished. I am also proud to be your husbond!

  13. Jesus is our good news. Thanks for sharing today!
    Joyfully,
    Jackie

    Thanks for having the contest. joyfuljel(at)gmail(dot)com

  14. krissidallas says:

    Love the free gift of Jesus this Christmas and all year round – AND excited about the possible free gift of your book! 🙂 Congrats on this major accomplishment – enter me for the drawing, please! And keep spreading love and truth to all you meet through this adventure. 🙂 Love ya.

  15. krissidallas says:

    Love the free gift of Jesus this Christmas and all year round – AND excited about the possible free gift of your book! 🙂 Congrats on this major step in your life – may you continue to share love and truth through every stage of this adventure you’re on! Love ya. 🙂 Can’t wait to read…

  16. Walt M says:

    Wonderful post, Stephanie. Hope you have a great Christmas!

Leave a Reply

